Good to Great?

Jim Collins’ Good to Great is a great and helpful book and I’ve learned a lot from it, but the thought occurred to me that striving to be great might not be a great idea after all. Good might be the enemy of great, but great, if one’s not careful, might easily become the enemy of joy. I’ve thought about eliminating from my life (“posteriorizing”) activities which bring me joy, but which I know I’ll never become great at, even though I can become very good at them. And I notice that even those things which I think I can become great at don’t give me much joy when I do them for the sake of becoming great at them. Maybe for some people – and I might be one of them – being “good enough” is great as long as it leads to joy!

To wrap things up here’s a Bible verse:

“Do you seek great things for yourself? Seek them not!” (Jer. 45:5)

Leave a Reply

