Stress and Law Practice

First of all, happy new year to everyone!

Recently, I’ve been thinking about the stress that I sometimes experience in law practice, so I tried surfing the web for some ideas on how to deal with it. I came across an article which I found very helpful. I wanted to thank the author but as far as I can tell there was no provision for comments by readers. Anyway, I’m taking the liberty of posting here a quote from said web article as well as the link to it.

Since law school the complicated issues of family law piqued my interest. When I started my practice, I felt that I should practice in several diverse areas such as real estate, criminal, and even personal injury. However, it was the family law cases that interested and motivated me. I received the greatest satisfaction when helping a client. It took me several years to discover this and realize that what really matters is doing what I enjoy and in an area in which I am truly interested. I learned that there were other areas of law in which I could earn more money or get more recognition, but which in my case, provided little satisfaction. I then made the important decision to limit my practice to family law with the attendant areas of guardianship, wills, trusts, and serving as a Guardian Ad Litem. By limiting my practice, I became knowledgeable in specific areas of law and soon discovered that focusing on one area, and knowing it well, allowed me to become more creative in my work. My mind was not continuously racing to become proficient in many topics, and as a result, the amount of stress I had to endure decreased.

In my case, obviously, it’s labor law I’ve been focusing on. Here’s the link.

Leave a Reply

