Now you see me …

… now you don’t. This blog has been semi-abandoned, and I guess that’s not surprising. I recently read somewhere that millions of blogs have been abandoned by their owners simply because it takes so much effort and energy to consistently maintain a blog. Anyway, I’m reappearing for now (and I don’t know for how long) because I can’t sleep and it crossed my mind that I still have a blog which I could re-activate anytime! So here goes…

The question is (as usual) what to blog about? Answer: probably anything that comes to mind at the moment. Like, for example, there’s my Shelfari shelf – if anyone’s interested to know what books I have and what I’m currently reading (click here).

And talking about books: the one that’s really making an impact on me lately is Foster’s Freedom of Simplicity. Here’s a quote:

“Turn your back on all high pressure competitive situations that make climbing the ladder the central focus… There is a legitimate place for blood, sweat and tears; but it should have its roots in the call of God, not in the desire to get ahead. Life is more than a climb to the top of the heap.” (p. 155)

Now that’s something every lawyer (and not just lawyers) needs to hear. Which reminds me, I just talked with a much older lawyer earlier today. He’s successful and well-known in the profession locally. But he advised me point-blank: “Don’t try to be like me. I’m not happy.”

On the other hand, another lawyer-friend said to me, “To be a lawyer is a blessing, not a curse. Not everyone has a chance to become a lawyer. Moreover, you enjoy a lot of things as a result of your being a lawyer: food on your table, money to pay for your children’s tuition, a roof over your head, you get to help people who need your services, etc. So don’t go around badmouthing the profession!”

Well, one can always strike a happy balance between these two views. I’m thankful I’m a lawyer but that doesn’t mean I have to be “in desperate haste to succeed and in such a desperate enterprise.” One can be a faithful steward of the vocation God has given him or her, without overdoing things.

” Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business, to work with your hands, just as we told you.” (I Thess. 4:11)

One thought on “Now you see me …

  1. I’m glad you’re into the simplicity of life thing. Paul said in his letters that contentment is great gain. True hapiness comes in doing His will. As a lawyer, you are an agent of justice. Justice comes from God for He is a God of justice. Most of the time, the path to righteousness is a lonely path. It seems that you are the only one walking on it. Do not be despair, Jesus said ” I am with you till the end of the age”. What makes our life heavy is the pursuit of worldy hapiness that never ends. Take a hold of that Joy that is in you hand; joy that will truly last.

Leave a Reply

