His Grace Alone

I was saddened by what I read about Ted Haggard, but I decided not to comment on it for reasons similar to those of Tim Challies: “To this point I have refrained from mentioning the issue for reasons related primarily to my own lack of sanctification.” This morning, however, I was reading 1 Corinthians 10, and the following verses just hit home:

Now these things happened to them as a warning, but they were written down for our instruction… Therefore let any one who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall.” (verses 11-12)

While reflecting on the fact that we stand only by the grace of God the following song just just had to be written and I’m sharing this with the prayer that it will be a blessing. Click here for the MP3. Below are the lyrics.

IF NOT FOR THE GRACE OF GOD (2X)
I WOULD BE WORSE THAN I AM
STUMBLING IN SIN & SHAME
SIN & SHAME

I HAVE NO REASON TO BOAST
I AM AS BAD AS THE REST
IF ONLY YOU KNEW
THE SECRETS I KEEP INSIDE
MY HEART

CHORUS:

IT’S ALL OF GRACE, ALL OF GRACE
JESUS ALONE, HIS GRACE ALONE (HE KEEPS ME STRONG)
KEEPS MY FEET WALKING TRUE
KEEPS MY HEART FAITHFUL TOO
KEEPS MY LIFE EVER NEW
HIS GRACE ALONE

LET HIM WHO STANDS TAKE HEED
ALWAYS HIS GRACE WE NEED
I AM WEAK IN MYSELF
BUT CHRIST IS MY STRENGTH
BY GRACE I STAND

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Philippines License.

Leave a Reply

