Closure

I am sorry for not having posted anything for so long. I have simply lost interest in blogging. Maybe it’s nothing more than “blogger’s block”, but until I regain my enthusiasm for blogging I will have to bring this blog to a close. However, I won’t be deleting this blog. Here are a a couple of quotes from Thomas Merton as my way of saying goodbye.

“… for a few others, the call to solitude, accepted and fulfilled in joy, is the only real guarantee of their being finally born. If they respond to it, if they get born, if they become happy and are content just to be themselves and not impose themselves and their private idiocies on anybody else, they will do a signal service to the rest of mankind.”

“He who attempts to act and do things for others or for the world without deepening his own self-understanding, freedom, integrity and capacity to love, will not have anything to give others. He will communicate to them nothing but the contagion of his own obsessions, his agressiveness, his ego-centered ambitions, his delusions about ends and means, his doctrinaire prejudices and ideas.”

7 thoughts on “Closure

  1. Just dropping in to let you know you have an interesting site. I hope you’ll continue to work on it. Wishing you all the best.

  2. Fred, don’t worry. Just tying up a few loose ends, here and there, and hopefully I’ll be posting again … but maybe only once a week. So many things to do, so little time! By the way, thanks for e-legal forum’s summary of the SC’s decision on People’s initiative. Will need it for my Conlaw class. 🙂

    Jacqui, taga Silay ka man gali! We used to own Silay Filipino Bakery, pero ginbaligya na namon almost 10 years ago. My wife’s actually a member of Bread of Life, and later on of the Lord’s Lampstand. Ptr. Ricky was the officiating minister during our wedding.

  3. Thanks for posting my comment. I just got in touch with Brother Ricky through email and he mentioned your first name in his reply.

    I think I know you since Silaynon kami nga mag-asawa. Sa Silay gid kami nagdaku pareho. We are just transient immigrants here in the States and are hoping to go home someday.

    I’ll be visiting your blog every now and then and hope to see new posts.

    God bless!

  4. Dennis, I’m a surprised (and a bit saddened) by your decision. I’ll definitely look forward to the day when you regain the drive to write down your thoughts here.

    God speed.

  5. Jacqui,

    Thanks for the encouragement. I plan to get back to blogging soon but at present I am just too busy trying to balance a lot of commitments. Thanks again and God bless!

  6. Hello,

    I stumbled upon your blog after Googling my former pastor in Bacolod City, Pastor Ricky Benitez (who formerly pastored my husband and I at Bread of Life in Bacolod).

    When I read your latest blog on “Closure” and the quote you borrowed from Thomas Merton, it hit me like a ton of bricks. I just finished praying for discernment on something that disturbed me and I felt that your blog was God’s way of answering my prayers.

    I apologize for failing to give specifics on this but I truly believe that the Lord used you to enlighten me, who is hundreds of miles away.

    I hope that my little experience will be inspiration enough for you to continue what you have started here. I will definitely include your blog in my bookmarked blog sites.

    More power and God bless! Jacqui Conclara

Leave a Reply

