The Emergent Church

I just received from 9Marks their latest eNewsletter, which is devoted to the topic of the Emergent Church. I don’t know much about this topic but I guess I will have to learn all I can about it.

Some might wonder why Filipino Christians should be interested in theological developments in the United States. The answer is quite simple: what goes on over there eventually reaches here. It’s just a matter of time.

So personally I’ve made it a point to keep abreast of theological developments in the U.S. so that by the time they reach here I’ll be well-equipped to help my fellow Filipino Christians undertand these things. And because of technology the time it takes for these developments to reach the Philippines is much shorter than before.

And here are the developments Filipino evangelicals should be aware of:

1. Postmodernism

2. Open Theism

3. The Emergent Church

4. The New Perspective on Paul

5. The Resurgence of Calvinism – (I confess I consider this one a good development! I wish I could get hold of the Christianity Today issue on “Young, Restless and Calvinist”)

I’ll try to blog more on these things in the next few days.

Posted in Uncategorized.Tagged .

Leave a Reply

