More Thoughts on the Da Vinci Interview

Sometimes the best answers you can give to a TV interview host are the ones you think of after the show is over! Anyway, here are some of the thoughts that occured to me just a few minutes ago: Regarding being open-minded about new things that come up which threaten the established faith, I could have said something like this: "When something like the Da Vinci Code comes up which makes assertions threatening what I believe I should remind myself that what I believe has stood the test of time and has weathered the storms of controversy throughout the centuries, not to mention that it has proven itself as worthy and true in my experience. This new thing still has to prove itself. I shouldn't dismiss or reject it outright but neither should I put it immediately on the same level as my time-tested faith. I have a right to listen to the warning signals triggered by my time-tested faith. And I have a right to evaluate this upstart contention with my time-tested faith serving at least as a preliminary framework. If this upstart proves itself worthy of upsetting my faith in the end, so be it, but it certainly does not deserve to be accorded the status of prima facie validity upon first meeting! It's like tennis a chess tournament: the no. 1 seed meets the lowest ranked player at the beginning of the tournament and people have a right to place their bets on the higher ranked player. When they do that they're not preventing the other player from playing; they're not claiming game over even before it's started. The game goes on, but the point is people have a right to place their bets in the way above-mentioned and if the result of the game goes their way the more you can't blame them!

Back to the Da Vinci Code. We've got a historically based religion like Christianity that has stood the test of time and here comes the Da Vinci Code saying, "Jesus was married to Mary Magdalene, etc." We place our bets on the no. 1 seed but that doesn't mean we're claiming "game over" before it has even started. We allow the game to go on; we do the research, and then we find out we're right and Dan Brown's wrong! Which is not surprising at all. At any rate, at the end of the day the historical and theological distortions of the Da Vinci Code are there for all to see. For a list of resources on the subject, see my previous post here.

Leave a Reply

