Da Vinci Movie: To See or Not to See?

I fell asleep watching The Gospel of Judas on National Geographic. That was how exciting it was for me. But the next day my sister-in-law and her husband told me they were intrigued by it and started asking questions like "Is the gospel of Judas true?" It dawned on me that for people who are not that familiar with theology, church history and the issues posed by the gospel of Judas something like this can be faith-shaking. Which means I can't afford to consider these things as unimportant; I have to read up on these so that I can be "ready to give an answer."

Which leads me to the Da Vinci code. Again, it's one of those things that ordinarily I do not find interesting enough to get me to lay aside temporarily Calvin, Owen or Barth so as to plunge into Dan Brown instead. But a friend lent me Dan Brown's Angels and Demons and, of course, The Da Vinci Code – required reading for the holy week! What can I do? It was impolite to refuse and he was really excited about lending me those books. Anway, I now think it's a duty to read Dan Brown – a Christian apologetical responsibility, so to speak. By the way, the movie's coming out in May and the question is, "Should I go and watch it?" Frankly, I think I might do just that. But here's a contrary view that makes me hesitate. I'm providing the link to this contrary view for anyone who wants to make up his or her mind. To see or not to see? That is the question!

4 thoughts on “Da Vinci Movie: To See or Not to See?

  1. Actually, I’d recommend going to the library and checking out the audio version. It’s easier to get through than trying to read it.

    Apart from all the attacks against Christianity, it just wasn’t that good a book. As a mystery novel, it was very predicable and the action just wasn’t that good. Apparently that’s really coming out in the movie version.

    Now, someone like GK Chesterton will keep you guessing until the very end.

  2. K! Actually, I delegated the task of reading Dan Brown to my wife. :)At present I’m busy looking up old poems in my old diaries so I can post it here. Anyway, my wife’s a lot smarter than I am. Whatever she says about Dan Brown is the line I’ll follow πŸ™‚

  3. I’d be interested to read what you have to say about Dan Brown. I tried reading Angels and Demons and I couldn’t get past page 4. It was poorly written–very predictable prose–and did for me what Nat’l Geographic Gospel of Judas did for you.

Leave a Reply

