What Would Jesus Do?

WHAT WOULD JESUS DO?

(A sermon preached to high school students)

"Whoever says that he lives in God should live just as Jesus Christ did."

(I John 2:6, TEV)

Intro:

This is an important question because (1) the world is watching whether we're genuine or not (2) and the world is wondering whether we really have something to offer that will make a difference. For many people we're the only Jesus they'll ever see. The main answer to the question What Would Jesus Do? is: Jesus would do that which would glorify his Father. "Father bring glory to your name." (John 12:28) "I showed your glory on earth." (John 17:4) In particular:

I. JESUS LISTENED TO HIS FATHER'S WORD. "… the Father who has sent me has commanded me what I must say and speak." (John 12:49) "… I have told you everything I heard from my Father." (John 15:15) Are we also taking time to listen to the Father's word? Do we regularly read the Bible?

II. JESUS OBEYED HIS FATHER'S WILL. "My food is to obey the will of him who sent me." (John 4:34) Are we obedient? Do we obey God's will for our lives especially as it is found in the Bible?

III. JESUS DID HIS FATHER'S WORK. " My Father works always, and I too must work." (John 5:17; c.f., John 4:34 and John 17:4). Jesus was a carpenter for most of his life; he preached for only around 3 years. If we want to be like Jesus and to do as he did we should be diligent in the work God has called us to do. The Bible teaches that God saves people so that they can do the good works which God has prepared for them to do. (Ephesians 2:8-10) We should be "zealous for good works" and "not slothful in business."

IV. JESUS LOVED HIS FATHER'S WORLD. (John 3:16). He shared his Father's love for the world by dying on the cross for our sins. Do we also have this same love for the world? Do we share the gospel of God's love with those who need to know about it? And do we live out the gospel in terms of loving acts?

2 thoughts on “What Would Jesus Do?

Leave a Reply

