A Romans 7 Poem

For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate.” (Romans 7:14-15)

Dark recesses,
Grave offenses,
Why, my heart is truly hell!
Will is helpless,
All seems hopeless,
God alone can make me well

Wash me whiter,
This my prayer;
Tho’ the devil holds me fast
Thou can sever
and deliver,
Give the victory at last!

O my Master,
Keep me ever;
Save me from this sinful mass.
Flesh will never
Be the victor
If Thy Spirit strengthen us.

Dead I reckon
Self – a lesson
Hard to learn, but learn I must.
Trust God’s reason;
Spirit, lead on!
Do Thou pardon – Thou the Just.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Philippines License.

Leave a Reply

